About Angola

Angola, officially the Republic of Angola, is a country in Southern Africa bordered by Namibia on the south, the Democratic Republic of the Congo on the north, and Zambia on the east; its west coast is on the Atlantic Ocean and Luanda is its capital city. The exclave province of Cabinda has borders with the Republic of the Congo and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.
Angola, more than three times the size of California, extends for more than 1,000 mi (1,609 km) along the South Atlantic in southwest Africa. The Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Republic of Congo are to the north and east, Zambia is to the east, and Namibia is to the south. A plateau averaging 6,000 ft (1,829 m) above sea level rises abruptly from the coastal lowlands. Nearly all the land is desert or savanna, with hardwood forests in the northeast.
Angola has a total surface area of 1,246,700 Km2 , and an Atlantic maritime shoreline measuring 1,650 km. Its coastline is quite regular, having few bays and few capes.The vast Angolan territory is divided into 18 provinces which are subdivided into municipalities.


People and Society

Nationality: Angolan

Ethnic groups:

  • Ovimbundu 37%,
  • Kimbundu 25%,
  • Bakongo 13%,
  • mestico (mixed European and native African) 2%,
  • European 1%,
  • other 22%


  • Portuguese
  • Bantu
  • other African languages



Read More


Government type:republic; multiparty presidential regime


  • Capital name: Luanda
  • Geographic coordinates: 8 50 S, 13 13 E
  • Time difference: UTC+1 (6 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)

Administrative divisions: 18 provinces (provincias, singular - provincia); Bengo, Benguela,

Independence: 11 November 1975 (from Portugal) Legal system: civil legal system based on Portuguese civil law; no judicial review of legislation


Telephones - main lines in use: 303,200 (2011)

Telephones - mobile cellular: 9.491 million (2011)

Internet hosts: 20,703 (2012)

Internet users: 606,700 (2009)







  • Airports: 176
  • Railways: 2,764 km
  • Roadways: 51,429 km
  • Waterways: 1,300 km
  • Merchant marine: 7
  • Ports and terminals: Cabinda, Lobito, Luanda, Namibe